Akemashite Omedeto Gozaimasu!!

Or Happy New Year, unseamlygirl style!  I hope that this year brings you much happiness, joy, peace, love and hope.  May you bring this new year gentleness, humility, giving, and compassion.  And I am positive we will all find much sewing, good fits, and beautiful fabric!

So!  I started this blog two years ago!!  Can you believe it?  I cannot!!  I am really glad that I did.  I have found a little, special community in the sewing blogging land – and I am happy that in some small way, I can contribute and participate.  My original year, I pledged Goodbye Valentino’s No-Ready-to-Wear 365.  I did pretty good, except for a few transgressions!

Last year, I wanted to focus on technique and getting better.  I think I accomplished that goal.  I’ve made several shirts (with collars), tackled lined pants, triumphed (sometimes) over fitting woes.  I still haven’t tackled welt pockets, active wear, or lingerie – but I know those are coming!  I also haven’t blogged as consistently as I wanted to.  I have at least 3 or 4 projects that I have yet to show you.  Soon.  Soon.

Shall I share my resolutions for 2016?  Here they are (be forewarned, they are not all sewing related!):

  1. Sew all of my clothing in 2016.  I absolutely love my made-me wardrobe and I find myself more and more reaching for items I have sewn.  Why not just make it a goal to have a largely hand sewn wardrobe?  I want to continue to focus on technique, fit, and pairing the right fabric with the pattern.  Perhaps some of my own patterns?
  2. Make active wear for running.  Yup, I’m going to go here.  Fehr Trade’s Duathlon patterns and materials already selected – stay tuned!
  3. Run, Run, Run.  I’ve got the Petersburg Half Marathon in April and NYC Marathon in November!  I need to make sure that I cross train, drop some weight, and stay healthy.  All this means is that I get to hang out with my bestie A LOT!!  Yay!  It also means that I have to be hyper vigilant about foam rolling, eating well, and taking care of myself.
  4. Spend as much time as I can with family and friends.  Because, in the end, that’s all that matters – right?  Some date nights with the hubs, game nights with the kids, hanging out with my buds, and seeing as much family as I can. It also means not letting work consume my time…it will be there, right?
  5. Be humble, be gentle, breathe.   I worked o this one in 2015.  It’s an ever evolving goal – but I find it helps me to stay centered and focused on being the person I want to be – flaws and all.

There you have it.  My little list of objectives.  Oh yeah, I also want to work more on my Japanese.  My girls need to start learning their culture and background.  Which means I gotta step up my game!  Perhaps a trip to Japan in 2017 – I’d like to visit my relatives….and buy some awesome fabric!!!

With that, I leave you with a little tease on my latest project.  Which, by the way, was finished with my rolled hem foot AND my new button hole cutter.  HOW did I live without for so long??

2 thoughts on “Akemashite Omedeto Gozaimasu!!

  1. New to following your blog😀. Excited to see how the Natalie top comes together… I just chose the fabric for mine yesterday!!!

Leave a Reply

