For the birds

I gotta say, it’s been a rough few weeks.  Sometimes I wonder why people are so mean and ugly.  It gets me down.  The easy part would be to keep those people out of your life, but it’s hard when you have to interact with them because you have to.  Sigh.  I found a quote recently from Steve Jobs – and I’ve been trying to keep it in my mind:

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

I’m trying to remember this and be true to myself.  To not let the opinions of others become my truth.  It’s hard.  I digress though….You came here to read about sewing, didn’t you?  There’s a point in here…I promise, stay with me.

People ask me all the time why I sew and how I find time to fit it into my schedule.  The same goes for running.  The reality is, I need to do these things.  When you are in a competitive environment where people judge you constantly, it’s important to keep parts of life for yourself.  Things you do to define who you are in absence of others opinions.  I never worry about what people think @ my running or my sewing.  Those are mine.  Something I created.  They make me feel good.  Like when my kids are laughing or giving me a hug.  That’s how and why I find time to sew.

So – this shirt makes me happy.  When I wear it, I can say those haters are for the birds! 

  
The pattern is the  Sew it Over Pussy Bow Blouse.  Super simple, but great results. I also LOVE this fabric!!!  I mean, how awesome are those birdies?

  
A close up of the cuff/placket.

I finished everything with French seams.  No other modifications were made.  Attaching the bow was a little weird.  I made it work though.  In the end, it was label worthy!!

There you have it.  In the words of Taylor Swift – haters gonna hate, hate, hate.  I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake – shake it off!

4 thoughts on “For the birds

  1. Great attitude, good on you. Sometimes those that put others down do so to make themselves feel better because they don’t have the talent, drive, or determination and are really hiding the fact they are in awe/jealous of what a person can actually create or do.

  2. There must be something in the air…I’ve been having to “shake things off” lately too. I like your blouse, and the fabric is really nice. In the wise words of Sheryl Crow…”If it makes you happy, it can’t be that bad.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

