Flock of Seagulls

Yup, totally dating myself with the hella cool 80s reference!  Did I also mention that I am from NorCal?  My CA friends get the reference and know what I’m talkin about!

I think I gushed earlier that I have been seriously fixated on loose, flowy, tunic patterns.  Not sure why – but I like how floaty fabric feels.  And let’s be honest, I’m feeling bad about my weight right now – so tunics hide a multitude of issues for me.   

Let me start by saying that I LOVE the Internet.  Seriously – wth did I do before its invention? (Again, aging myself here).  Like I said, tunics have taken over my brain.  So one afternoon, I started googling terms and stumbled upon Liola Designs.  This is a new to me indie company and the pattern is the Natalie top.  There is also a cute Peter Pan pattern hack – I may try that soon.

The pattern is beautifully drafted and I am totally and completely in love with this shirt.

Can we start with the fabric?  I absolutely had to have this fabric.  The bird motif has a Japanese vibe – peaceful but a little hectic all at once.  It’s a light weight chiffon.   You can see my bust dart in this photo.

  
I finished everything with French seams.  The only change made was to shorten the sleeves and omit the button bands on the sleeves.  I will add those in a future make.  Here’s a photo:

 
Close your eyes to the messy back yard!!!  

I think I need to narrow the shoulders as the top of the sleeve cap is drooping slightly.  Other than that, I’m really pleased.  I’ve worn this to work a lot!

Overall, great pattern and another shirt in the operation replace pit stain pile!  šŸ™ˆ

4 thoughts on “Flock of Seagulls

  1. You know, I’ve looked past that pattern because the picture looked like it had some sort of front tie hanging down. I didn’t realize what I was seeing was a nice placket. I like how it fits you. It’s has the boxy look that is on trend but its not too loose.

Leave a Reply

