Craziness – or surviving my job

I started a new job at my company about three months ago.  It was a job I sort of pitched, and my leadership created it, and I got the job.  I have to say that I really love it, but it frustrates me too.  I get to be creative, influence change and be visionary – which is awesome.  But, there are politics to navigate, the team is small, resources are limited, tools are hampering and there is a ton of pressure to deliver.  So, needless to say, I’m stressed out.  I don’t know about you, but I handle massive amounts of stress well – until I don’t – and then I am really stressed out.  So.  I’m at that point and I need to get de-stressed in order to keep a calm corporate image in place.  Grrr.  

What’s a girl to do?  Go for a run?  Check.  Drink lots of wine?  Check. Recreational bitching?  Check (sorry).  Sew?  Check.  Yeah.  Sewing really helps me to process the day.  People always ask me how I find time to sew.  Usually, I fit it in when the girls are taking their showers at night. I usually get a good 15-30 minutes in.  And, now that the girls are older and hanging with their friends, I can squeeze an hour or so in on the weekends.  My hubby will work in the office sometimes and we’ll spin some vinyl and hang out.  It’s nice.

Needless to say, I’ve made a few things recently!!  Last weekend I finished this Swiss dot cotton shirt.  I’m in love.  Soft, girly, great color.  I’ve made this pattern before.  It came out cute, but the fabric was all wrong.  I knew I wanted to make it again in the right fabric.

It’s a BurdaStyle pdf pattern.  I omitted the sleeve cuffs and opted for a rolled hem.  Be warned, the neckline is a little low – I raised mine based off the first make.  And – the collar instructions totally SUCK.  But other than that – it’s a quick make.  I opted not to French seam – everything is surged inside.

 

A close up of the gathered yoke detail.

 

How I wore it to work.
 

Dork.  I think it will look better with an a-line skirt – I’m such a square – no hips at all.

I don’t know about you – but I’m so glad to have my sewing.  What’s your process for de-stressing and squeezing in sewing?

One thought on “Craziness – or surviving my job

Leave a Reply

