Summer is here!

Today is the last day of school!  So, officially, summer has started.  Yay!  I took the afternoon off for the epic neighborhood parents vs kids water balloon fight.  The bus driver even gets in on it – arming the children as they get off the bus with water balloons. Too much fun!  And then the kids scattered and went off to play with their friends – leaving me with 2 HOURS(!) of sewing time.  By. My. Self. Eee!

I recently discovered Spitup and Stilletos website.  Her patterns are so adorable and FREE!  What??  Yup, free.  I am a skeptic, but decided to give one a go – and guess what?  I love it!

This is the Harper blouse, sleeveless, mandarin collar, fast sew shirt.  I used a quilting fabric in my stash.  I planned on making a duvet cover this winter for my oldest, but never got to it.  I cut a straight size 4 with no adjustments.  The only tweak I would make in the next version is to use a lighter fabric and move the bust darts up slightly.  

 
I serged the insides and used bias tape around the arm holes.  Overall, a nice summer top that I can dress up or down!

A close up of the collar & a selfie!  

See the cute gather detail around the collar? 

So, cool.  Free pattern, stash bust, wearable muslin, and the start of summer.  Doesn’t suck – does it?

Cheers! 

 

3 thoughts on “Summer is here!

Leave a Reply

