Great Gingham Goodness!

I feel redeemed. My Great Gingham Goodness Archer saved me. I have been stalking gingham shirts on Pinterest. Obsessing about a version for myself. And perfection came together in the form of fabric and an Archer pattern. What can I say? I L-O-V-E this shirt!

However, I cannot lie, the shirt did give me a little heartache. Shall we discuss? I cut this out several weeks ago. Part of my binge and purge weekend. It sat a few weeks and I sewed it up last weekend. I *tried* to match the plaid, but alas, it’s not perfect.

IMG_1191.JPG
This fabric was a PITA. I did not like sewing with it – sort of a light weight cotton poly blend. Neither of my machines liked it very much. I redid the collar twice – didn’t like how the collar stand was sitting. That’s the thing about sewing – my perfectionist tendencies get taken out via my seam ripper. I am anal retentive – I would fixate on that collar stand – and we can’t have that, can we?

IMG_1194-0.JPG
I did modify the sleeve. I made it short sleeved. I extended the cuff piece by a few inches and made it flip up. I think it came out pretty cute. You can see I did pleat the sleeve a bit – that was pure laziness as I cut the cuff a smudge too small. What do you do? As Tim Gunn would say, “Make it work.”

IMG_1196.JPG

I made my 6 yo play photographer. She wasn’t very helpful. Alas, good help is hard to find these days. I did get a sort of a decent pic out of the bunch. I promptly fired her afterwards.

IMG_1174.JPG

Leave a Reply

