Hoodie Love <3

Does this color make me look like a carrot?
DSC_0059

Probably, but I don’t care! I made the hoodie after my frustration with pants fitting. The fabric was a recent purchase from Denver Fabrics. I’ll be honest, I don’t remember picking an orange sweatshirt fleece. It takes so long to get the fabric, I wouldn’t remember what I ordered anyway. Probably a panicked pick to get my $50 free shipping minimum while on-line fabric shopping at work. Shhhh….don’t tell anyone. So, for whatever reason, the fabric made its way into my hands – one whole yard of very bright orange. I said to myself, “Self, what the h#$%? What are you going to make with this stuff?”

Enter Kollabora. I’m still on the fence if I really like the way you have to navigate through the site. Think of it as a Pinterest for crafty people…sewists, knitters, the other crafty people. I went poking around. Found a few patterns. Bought one. Glad I did.

This is the Iris Hoodie by schnittchen patterns. Love this pattern! Well. Mostly. I’ll get to that shortly. But let’s look at some better, less goofy pictures, shall we?
DSC_0050DSC_0052
Ok, better perhaps, less goofy, no. Like my model stare? So sexy right? HAHA.

Ok, I love this pattern. I will be making another. I love the wide neck – I always feel like I am being choked in RTW hoodies. This pattern does not have that problem. I also like the option to make it with or without the hoodie. This fabric doesn’t have very much stretch – so I don’t think it’s the best choice for this pattern. I ended up omitting the arm bands and the band around the waist. The sleeves look a little short because of that. My next make will be a heavy weight knit vs. sweatshirt fleece. So what do I not like about this pattern – 50 + pages to tape and cut out. All of the pattern pieces are full size (vs. cut on the fold). If you are doing the hoodie in a stripe, you’ll appreciate the full size pieces. For the rest of us, seriously PITA. Everything else was hunky dorey. Get on over, buy it, you’ll like it!

What I learned:
1. I always thought sweatshirt fleece was stretchy. Until I finally sewed with it. Funny.
2. Love me a hoodie!

7 thoughts on “Hoodie Love <3

  1. Oh. It looks super cozy. Would be great to wear while reading a nice book or out on a walk. Multiples would be a must for all the cold weather happening lately.

Leave a Reply

