Super Bowl Sunday Shirt

I’m a little late to the game, so to speak! But, to be fair, I’ve been sick this week. Too sick to sew, but not sick enough to not obsess over all of the things I want to sew. Boo. Oh well,

The new Deer and Doe Plantain t-shirt has hit the interweb hard recently…have you seen all of the great makes out there? There are some truly cute versions! I couldn’t help myself – I’ve been sewing through every t-shirt pattern imaginable in an effort to enhance my casual wear wardrobe. So…needless to say, I downloaded this FREE pattern and sewed it up in a flash. All told, between taping the pattern together to sewing this baby up, it took about 1.5 hours. I sewed it on Super Bowl Sunday before the Denver Broncos got crushed by the Seahawks (whoop, whoop) and wore it on Monday to work. Now, I did say I made the shirt for casual wear, but it also works for work wear too. See for yourself.
DSC_0029_edited-1
It’s very comfy, true to size and I think rather flattering. This time, I took my own advice, and actually marked the neck band placement. It really came out nicely. Perhaps I should keep doing that, right? I sewed this shirt up with some remnant fabric – a charcoal grey ponte. The shirt itself is fitted at the bust and flares out at the waist slightly. Good for those days when you want to eat a cheeseburger. I did not add the elbow patches as I had to make the sleeves 3/4 length because of limited fabric (less than a yard!). I will do that in my next make.

The only down side to this shirt? Someone at work asked me: “Did you make that?” Me: “Yes. Does it look too Becky Home Ec-y?” Them: “No, it’s really cute. You could even use it as a maternity shirt.” Me: “Bite your tongue. I’m not pregnant. It’s not happening.”

Sigh. Perhaps it would make a nice maternity top. Maybe I won’t make another.

One thought on “Super Bowl Sunday Shirt

Leave a Reply

