Neat freaks, look away

Imagine a guest room. With a walk in closet. Imagine that walk in closet was converted to a SMALL sewing room. You walk through the door of said closet and take in all of the glorious creativity.

Look right. This is what you see:
DSC_0122_edited-1
Those are vintage patterns shoved into those polka dot baskets people, VINTAGE.

Look straight ahead. A lovely window.
DSC_0123_edited-1

And now, left. A useful counter for the children to draw and play and be colorful.

DSC_0124_edited-1

Yeah, that’s all in my head. Now you know why my friend had the look of horror in her eyes when I showed her. This does not include the disastrous guest/office where my sewing has spilled over. More on that tomorrow…

So, back to my day. I have emptied, dusted, sorted, and cleaned every surface in the room. In addition, I moved out the dresser (of which, I am oddly attached as it was one of the first pieces of furniture I bought for myself in SF). I put together a shelf and a small cabinet. I purged fabric that I knew I would never use. I threw away old boxes (anyone want an iPhone 4 box? No, didn’t think so.). The children’s craft supplies were not spared. I threw out old, dried up pens and markers, loose toys, and general junk. In total, 4 trash bags – F-O-U-R. That’s a lot of shit coming out of a little space. haha, that sentence made me laugh.

Well, don’t mind me. Here’s the “After” if you will:

Look right.
DSC_0145
Isn’t that mermaid fab? My youngest painted it at art camp two summers ago. She’s been looking for a home. I think she looks great in my room.
Those precious vintage patterns? Oh, don’t see them, do you? Neatly put away in the drawer.

Look straight.
DSC_0147
Ok, not much different. Looking at the pictures, I may need to replace my race bibs with actual curtains. I seriously HATE blinds…even though they are on every window in my house thanks to the prior owner.

Look left.
DSC_0149
And, of course, I can’t put up one mermaid without the other. She’s from my oldest. She’s beautiful, right? I’m glad I have her out and not shoved into some corner. Oh, look, a counter…for the children to play and color.

Well, that’s all folks. The girls LOVE it. They have already run in and started drawing on the chalk walls again. I can’t wait to sew tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Neat freaks, look away

Leave a Reply

