Vogue Wrap Dress

I’ve had Vogue 8896 in my stash for some time.  I always like the look of wrap dresses on others – plus, the idea of easy knits appeals to me.  As the pattern says, “Very Easy, Very Vogue.”  It does not disappoint.  I went to the fabric store on January 2 – picking up needles.  I saw the fabric in the clearance bin for $5.00 yard.  I knew immediately it had to be this dress!  So – I looked up the pattern, bought 2 1/2 yards of fabric and went along my merry way!

The sewing was very easy.  I used my serger for most of the edges and a twin needle for the hem at the bottom and at the sleeve edges.  The pattern calls for gathers at the shoulders and waist.  I’m not sure that I am crazy about the gathers at the waist…but I wore the dress to work yesterday with a jacket and it did not bother me much.  Between cutting the pattern, the fabric and actual sewing, it probably took about 2 hours.  I eliminated the back seam.  The fabric has a lot of stretch – I cut a size 10 and it worked perfectly.

Annnnnddddd…..here’s a picture.  I am not very photogenic…but, it will do.  I need to work on my model poses.

DSC_0084_edited-1        DSC_0091

What I learned:

  • I need to work on finding a way to pose that makes me not look like an idiot.
  • Twin needles with knits should be set on a longer stitch length!  It makes all the difference!
  • Read your serger manual –  it really does make a difference what settings you use to avoid puckering fabric.  I finally figured this out after owning the damn thing for over two years.
  • My effort to learn my camera is going slowly.  I suppose I should read the manual (ha!).

A little sneak peak at what’s on my sewing table now.

DSC_0100DSC_0101

Leave a Reply

